top of page

Did Anyone Say Fruitcake?

Updated: Dec 13, 2023



You might have noticed a few graphics linked to playlists and radio shows; here is a little back story regarding the Fruitcake! {TeaZilla is my inner dinosaur. There will be more about her in upcoming posts!}


Fruitcake Is Our Yearly Holiday Mix, which we send out to Family and friends. It usually goes with a Holiday Cheer Package, In Goody Bags, or sent in Greeting Cards. {Note! The music from our first Mix is in this Mix. We Added Extra For The Show!} 



The Back Story



When I was growing up, we would receive a fruitcake every Christmas. That Fruitcake would end up in the Fruitcake CryoFreeze. The top part of a really old Frigidaire lived at the base of the stairs, just outside the lower level bathroom & laundry room.

 I remember the first time we received one. The technicolored fruit was pretty, and I was excited about the cake! Then my mom quickly informed me that we did not want to eat it, and she made an “icky face” as she shoved it in the freezer. … and it stayed in there.

 The following year, we got another one, and it went to live with the other Fruitcake. 

We got another fruitcake every year, which went to live with the others.

When I inquired about them, I was told that they lasted FOREVER. 



Years passed, and we moved, but I do not think the fruitcakes moved with us. {I never saw Them Again!} 



I know the Frigidaire went to live in a friend’s treehouse. I watched as they rolled their prize away on their skateboards. No, they did not become the keepers of the fruitcakes; I looked.

I never asked about the Mysterious Disappearance of The Fruitcakes. My mom probably buried them so no one would become upset by their disposal. 

Fruitcakes became the butt of many jokes, and I even had a Christmas Pin on my Santa Hat that Said, “No Fruitcake!”

One Christmas, a friend offended my pin and asked me why I hated Fruitcake so much? I shared our family history, and that is when I realized I had never tried one. That is when they had their grandma make me a fruit cake. She took one out of the freezer and soaked it in rum. I took a bite, and I got sick. I am not sure if it was gluten, the weird texture, or what, but it was at that moment I knew why my mom was not excited about Fruitcake. 

Many Years Went By, and We started Creating Holiday mixed CDs To Add To Our Holiday Cheer Goody bags. The name “Fruitcake” seemed obvious. We wanted to create a tastier tradition, something fun to pass around. We hope you Enjoy These Mixes! These are from Our Very First Few Fruitcake Mixes!  



We Hope You Enjoy This Recipe! 

Let us know in the comments if you made it. 

What Version Did You Bake?


Thank You For Stopping By! 


We appreciate you, and We hope your day is delightful. 


If you liked this post or found it helpful, please share! 


Please Introduce yourself in the comments, What's New and Good In Your World?

What Makes Your Heart Sing?


There's A Happy Sing-A-Long Song At The Bottom Of The Page. 

It's by our good friend, Beachfront Vinny! "Candy Man (C'mon Get Happy)"

Just Click The Play Button To The Right Of The Island. It's an Easter Egg that was put there just for you! It is at the bottom of Every Page! 

Let it be a reminder that there is always someone here for you at The Purple Tiki! 


Thank you for being an essential part of our Ohana {Family}!


Peace, Love & Cosmic Bunny Rabbits 

-Tea



Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page